Own Your Look, Style and Body  (A few Steps to Your Perfect)

Living in a world of the skinny’s can really wreak havoc on one’s own confidence when a special event is coming up and you need to find that perfect dress or outfit.  Spring and summer are around the corner, what normally comes with the warmer weather vacations, weddings, and family and class reunions.  How do you feel??   Are you happy with your look, size?  OMG did you just look in the mirror and check  for those dreaded crow’s feet  or those extra pounds you have put on? Even though your friends say you look wonderful you see the skin sagging on your arms and or legs?  We Are Our Own Worst Critic’s when it comes to our body. We really need to put a stop to it and Love us for who we are, I am not saying don’t lose weight or don’t exercise what I am saying is BE HEALTHY!!

What is healthy?   Healthy is when your mind and body are in sync and are working at their best, we fall into good blood pressure, our cholesterol is good, sugar levels are within the normal range and we move. We have peace within.

Whether you are the Mother of the Bride, Bridesmaid or Seeing old friends or family you haven’t seen in years.  Don’t let them see you sweat!!!  Walk with confidence and dress for your look.  Let’s face it we are not 20 any longer (well most of us reading this aren’t) we are seasoned, we have to own it!  We have had children, life’s ups and downs.   Ladies I know all about this, let me share a little story with you, I will make it quick, It was my 20th high school reunion, I paid my admission to go had the dress all picked out, ok who am I kidding I had 3 dresses picked out, well one was for when I dropped those 10lbs, one if I was a little bloated no one would notice and one I really had no business wearing, I just didn’t want to look OLD.  LOL Who can relate with me?  Long story short I didn’t go. I drove half way down to the event and turned around and went home crying my eyes out. My friend who was going to go with me backed out, I wasn’t in a good place in my marriage at that time, I didn’t have a spouse going. What do I say? What will they think? OOOMMMGGGG I Can’t Do This.  I didn’t…….. Ugh what the heck, my confidence was shot. I was so worried about what others were going to think I forgot that none of that mattered.  I put so much stress on the outside I forgot me!!  (Gray hair, wrinkles, etc.) If you are feeling anything like I did, I have a few tools for you to keep in your arsenal to help you Own Your Look, Style and Body.

Let’s put the hardest one to rest first; if you need to lose weight get on a program that works best for you. Have a great support system behind you (coach, spouse, and friend) set SMART goals Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, Time Bound goals don’t start 2 weeks before the event the stress will beat you up.

A couple quick fixes for your beautiful eyes, eliminate puffiness and or dark circles?  The night before the event make a cup of green tea, refrigerate the tea bags over night, place them on your eyes the next morning lay and rest quietly and breathe. This is your time to regroup relax and just be.  If you meditate do it, if you are the praying type then pray this is your time. Focus on the fun you are going to have, the good things that have happened in your life. When we focus on the good it doesn’t leave room for the negative. Keep your eye cream in the fridge, put it on cold it also helps reduce puffiness, tightens and brightens your eyes.

Let’s put that bright youthful look back in your skin face and body…. Make your skin a Cup of Joe mix coffee grinds, powdered milk and sugar in the raw with your face wash/body wash the milk with tighten and firms, nourishes and softens skin. The caffeine reduces inflammation, stimulates circulation (later Cellulite) the sugar exfoliates, and its natural alpha hydroxy acids eliminates blemishes and restores balance.

Take Biotin supplements great for skin hair and nails

Prevent Bloat – stay away from high sodium foods, dairy, carbonated drinks and carbs a few days before the event.  That means no take out, prepare your own meals so you know what you are eating.  Leafy greens, cucumbers, coconut water (unsweetened) is the fountain of youth from the inside out!

Drink Lemon water first thing in the morning and several times a day to flush out your system and aides in digestion.   I generally make a fresh brewed green tea with lemon and ginger and drink that throughout the day

Save that glass of wine for the event not before, you can become dehydrated, dries out the skin, and causes inflammation.

Now that we have taken care of the outside, the main focus is on the inside how you feel about you, how you own who you are and your age.  We are all created uniquely beautiful, just because the magazines say we are to look this way or that, it is not the way our creator created us.  So love your flaws inside and out.  They have made you who you are.  Age is only a number.  Look in the mirror and tell yourself that you’re beautiful and that your style, look and body are yours and yours alone.  Those that find fault in you have their own issues with themselves.  Be the best you, walk with your shoulders back, head held high and smile. Because you are Uniquely Beautiful a beauty all of your own.

Here is another great article to follow up with if you are frightened of going to the at event and staying on your healthy program!!    http://www.fittingfitnessin.com/?p=1658

About culinaryfusion

Certified Health Coach a real Foodie at heart, Menu planners, Kitchen Counselor, Gluten Free,Bringing families back to the kitchen table one recipe at a time. Health Coach guiding clients with a gentle hand to reach optimum health, fast safe and simple.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

