That light bulb moment!!

Working at a B&B I meet some wonderful people. I always go out and chat with my guests in the dinning room  after breakfast has been served,being we are across the street from the Culinary Institute of America our guests usually stay with us and visit the CIA for dinner or lunch many  have questions regarding the restaurants, program etc. I really love spending the time and learning new things from each one of them. One of the best parts of my job is teaching and sharing what I know about gluten free and dietary needs and helping those get healthy through diet and nutrition. Yesterday I had the honor and privilege of meeting  one remarkable man Colonel Billings Ph.D and his wife, we got to talking about the restaurant he owns in San Diego CA, talking food we got onto the topic of helping those through food and diet,  the Colonel shared with me that he runs a clinic out of his restaurant for Counseling Men and Women who have served in all branches of The United States Armed Forces whom suffer from Combat Stress. Wow how amazing!! Finally someone out there to take care of these service men and women; The Colonel is doing it not only through listening to these veterans but helping them through nutrition, so often we are just prescribed some form of medication to help us get through and if that one doesn’t work here’s another, regardless the side effects, one is prescribed for one problem another for the other problem and so on and so on before you no it there is another problem. The Colonel recognized this and has taken the route to make some changes. As we continued to talk Colonel said ” I love to cook at home I don’t mind the restaurant, but it’s not what I am suppose to be doing, I am suppose to be helping these men and women” That’s when the light bulb went off for me that being the Head Chef at the B&B is great I love what I do, I meet wonderful people BUT it’s not what I am suppose to be doing. I am suppose to be helping people get healthy through food and nutrition. Now don’t get me wrong I don’t think I am a Dr and I am not Anti Medication, I just feel that proper nutrition and diets for your dietary issues and diseases can make a huge difference. At one point in my life I was on 6 different medications to treat my acute Rheumatoid Arthritis when the medication was making me feel worse then disease itself I new I needed to make some changes and it was to go to a nutritionist and learn how to eat to help me get better. Then is was off to school so I could help others. Today I am medication free and in remission. Just like Colonel Billings he knows that some medication can help but getting these service men and women on the right path through listening, getting them on the proper diet and exercise program can help elevate some or most of the stress they have been dealing with. So in closing I First Thanked Colonel Billings for his time served and  helping these men and women, that truly deserve more for all they have done for our country, the old saying freedom is not free. I want to thank Colonel for helping me make a clear decision as to what it is I need to be doing in my life, my passion is helping those get healthy through proper food and nutrition. What I am getting at here; is make sure you are doing what you know in your heart you should be doing. you are never too old to make the change. I am now 42 years old and I KNOW what it is I’m going to do. Not that I haven’t always been helping those with my gluten free but I want to do more. So go out there and do what it is that you love!! Be the change that Colonel Billings Ph.D is in your field of interest. oh and if you are in the neighborhood go stop by and say hello to him at Joey’s Carlsbad CA!! Tell him Chef Marina said hello. So I am giving you a different kind of recipe tonight.
Recipe for life: “Do one thing today that your future self will thank you for and so will someone else.
Until tomorrow my friends, remember to stay focused, stay healthy and make those changes you have always wanted to do; it is never to late to do what you love!!
Night

About culinaryfusion

Certified Health Coach a real Foodie at heart, Menu planners, Kitchen Counselor, Gluten Free,Bringing families back to the kitchen table one recipe at a time. Health Coach guiding clients with a gentle hand to reach optimum health, fast safe and simple.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to That light bulb moment!!

  1. yz94 says:

    chef, teach, teach, teach. There’s no reason why you can’t teach at the very school you graduated from, the Culinary Institute. I’ll bet you could teach an evening class at Dutchess next semester. We need the resources that you and Dr Billings can provide us to be healthy and healing. So, keep on keepin on pussycat. You have much to share.

  2. marysparacinobortel says:

    Hello sister blogger – I couldn’t have said it better! Yes, it’s never too late for anything, especially good change! I’ve always wanted my own B&B to teach healthy living and eating. A nice relaxing get away with great tasting and nutritional food! It sounds like you have the best of both worlds, a great job that is actually related to what you want to be doing! Colonel Billings sounds like a wonderful man, I agree with what he’s doing and appreciate it more than words. My son has served in both the Iraq and Afghan. wars and our young men and women come back all torn apart, mentally and physically. I’ve even noted poor hygiene and eating habits – it’s just how it is, they go in one way and come out another. No matter what we LOVE to do, we must all include helping these young war vets! They need us! The VA just can’t help them all, they are many! Providing nourishment in both spirituality and FOOD is what they need; and LOTS OF LOVE AND PATIENCE! Great post – keep up the good work!

  3. Hello Mary, I really enjoy the B&B business I meet a lot of wonderful people. You are right our service men and women need a lot of TLC!! I don’t think they get enough for the job they all do. Colonel Billings is an awesome man I would love to be out in CA working with him, though there are many here in NY that need help so I will reach out here and see if I can help out. Please give your son a Big Thank You for his time served he is greatly appreciated!! Thanks again my blogging friend!! Have a wonderful night!

Leave a Reply

