Paleo Day 28

Today I sat in the hospital same day surgery waiting room for about 6 hours for a family member to have a 2 hour  procedure . Normally when you have to take part in this waiting game it drags on and on you are afraid to get up and leave the waiting room in fear that the Dr will come out and look for you and you not there; then whats going to happen? So you put off eating and going to the restroom you are just stuck in that chair until you see the Dr. I picked up a  large coffee and packed fruit thinking ok the procedure is only going to take 1 1/2 hours at the max prep time 45 min and recovery maybe an hour or so then I will be able to grab some lunch. It didn’t work out the way I planed, it was vending machine bags of mixed nuts for lunch not too bad but wasn’t so good either, snack was more mixed nuts dinner was take out from the steak house. I did well with that meal 6 oz of filet Mignon with green beans and a side salad. That made me feel so much better once I ate “real food” Dispite the long day sitting in the waiting room at a hospital with all the family members of the patients having surgery every time the phone would ring we would all look at each other like “OMG who’s going to answer it and who are they looking for?” LOL, after our “secretary” the wife of another patient would answer it and say the family’s name they were looking for she would sit down and we  would all laugh in relief that it wasn’t for us. We would all get back to talking with one another, we talked our family member in surgery why etc, then we would talk about what we did for a living. We all became a little family of waiting room friends, never met one another before some were from NYC some were from upstate,we were there for not the best reasons but we made a  good time of it. We would hold each others seats get one another drinks; we were lightening the load for each other to make the time pass. As the day went on a family would leave and head off to see their loved one after awhile you didn’t want to go because you didn’t want to leave the others there alone, by the time the 6th hour rolled on by for me it was my time to leave, I took a liking to this one family from NYC our “secretary” her son and sister in-law waiting on news of on her husband. While we were talking through out the day I shared with her what I do for a living come to find out she has an intolerance to gluten I was sharing with her some of the things she can change  to help her out before you know it I was answering so many questions for other family’s in the waiting room. When I left I felt so good because I was not only building relationships with her and the others in the room I was able to help her with her eating goals. I forgot to mention she was Italian, knowing she needed to stay away from gluten she continued to eat it because as she would say “I’m Italian” . I gave her my number and shared with her she could still continue to eat Italian food with some adjustments and I promised her she could still enjoy holiday and family meals. Then I shared with her that the disease mostly affects people of European (especially Northern European) descent, she couldn’t believe it most think this is a disease  more prominent in the United States. I love when I am able to help people out!! When we have a true passion for what we do it makes you feel so good when you are able to touch at least one person with what you know. So take the time and talk to people in the waiting room or on the train or the bus you never know how you can impact their lives or how they can impact yours. Today I am grateful for the time spent in the hospital, I was able to meet some wonderful people!! I love people!! I am ready to head up those stairs to call it a night. Always remember to stay focused, stay healthy and always take that moment to talk to someone new through out the day one never knows what you can learn from one another!! Until tomorrow my friends sleep tight!!

About culinaryfusion

Certified Health Coach a real Foodie at heart, Menu planners, Kitchen Counselor, Gluten Free,Bringing families back to the kitchen table one recipe at a time. Health Coach guiding clients with a gentle hand to reach optimum health, fast safe and simple.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

