Paleo Day 25

Today I spent the day in the kitchen with my son Mateo, we were Gluten Free bread baking machines, he had his first order. My clients that I used to bake for have been requesting for me to make some gluten free bread for them. Due to my work schedule I am unable to make it for them any longer so Mateo stepped up and said “Mom if you show me how to do it I will make it for them” well today was gluten free bread baking 101. My son has 2 yrs of culinary arts at the high school level and in his class he was the head bread baker; if anyone has make gluten bread and then gluten free bread they are so different then one another. So Mateo is so used to kneading the dough and having the right chew etc. Gluten free does not require any kneading, he had to make some adjustments, he did a great job today. He just has a knack for bread making whether gluten or gluten free. I have to say I am very proud of him!! He’s going to make a great Chef. Here is a little tip for those who make there own gluten free bread bake it in a dutch oven, The crust is beautiful with a great chew, you will forget you are eating Gluten Free.
I stuck to my menu today Yeah it feels so good when you can do that, breakfast was egg whites and spinach, snack was dried blueberries Yum is all I can say, that was my first time ever trying them and I love them, lunch was chicken and salad I swear I am going to start to grow feathers soon, LOL, snack was a handful of mixed nuts dinner was center cut pork chops with sauteed red and green peppers with a tomato cucumber salad. A tip for cooking a great pork chop not dry just perfect is a cast iron skillet you don’t need a lot of oil if you get the skillet hot enough you just put the meat in and let it release itself when it is ready to be turned, many of us are impatient and put the meat in the skillet and we are constantly touching it. Let it alone once it is seared it will release itself for the pan and then you can turn it over, that is the same if you are cooking it on the grill. Remember you don’t have to cook a pork chop until it is done as my grandmother would say, that was dry and tough you can cook it medium, as long as it is 145 degrees in the middle, they dropped it 15 degrees from 160. So remember when you are cooking your pork chops, actually all meat bring it out of the frig 10-15 mins before cooking take the chill off , get your skillet nice and hot, put the meat in the skillet and let it get a nice sear on it, it will release itself then turn it over and cook the other side, use a meat thermometer to make sure it reads 145 degrees the of course enjoy it!!
Getting ready to head up those stairs, when you are in the kitchen baking or cooking dinner invite you child, niece , nephew or grandchild in and have them help you great times are spent in the kitchen, you are not only teaching them to be comfortable in the kitchen you are creating wonderful memories,also when children take part in preparing a meal they tend to want to eat what they created because they are proud of themselves when doing this they broaden their pallets to foods the would normally not try. So the next time you are in the kitchen invite a child in make some found memories and introduce new foods to their liking. I will always cherish the memories of my grandmother and I in the kitchen, they too will always remember the days spent with their mother, grandmother or Aunt. So stay focused, stay healthy and always share time in the kitchen with a child. Until tomorrow Night

My son Mateo we have spent many days in the kitchen, 

About culinaryfusion

Certified Health Coach a real Foodie at heart, Menu planners, Kitchen Counselor, Gluten Free,Bringing families back to the kitchen table one recipe at a time. Health Coach guiding clients with a gentle hand to reach optimum health, fast safe and simple.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paleo Day 25

  1. marysparacinobortel says:

    Lee and I make awesome gf bread and pizza dough too! Keep up the good work! I think many people would eat gf if they knew just how good it tastes!!

Leave a Reply

