Jarring for the Winter

Jarring for the Winter

Today I spent the day harvesting fruits and vegetables from my garden and pickling and making jams. It’s a great way to get your garden through the winter and you know what’s in each jar.

 Image

Pickling is a great way to preserve all of those cucumbers that you have an abundance of in the garden.  I love adding different herbs from my garden to give it that extra kick. Today I added tons of garlic, chili flakes and some tarragon. Have fun with it!

Image

Here is Ginger Peach Jam, it is so yummy!  This recipe I used raw honey instead of sugar and pectin. You can enjoy the delicious fresh peach flavor in the dead of winter.  This jam is great served with toast to a pork chop.  Brighten up the flavors with herbs from your garden add some mint to peaches, Thai basil to strawberry Jam, mint jelly, how about fig lavender?

Image

Take the time to Can and jar your pickles and jams and enjoy your harvest year around.  The joy in doing this is; you did it, you nurtured all of these wonderful fruits and vegetables and you know what you put in them so you and your loved ones can enjoy them throughout the year.

Getting my hands dirty becoming one with the earth is my quiet time, sharing what I harvest with those that I love and care about makes me happy women. Go get your hands dirty.

About culinaryfusion

Certified Health Coach a real Foodie at heart, Menu planners, Kitchen Counselor, Gluten Free,Bringing families back to the kitchen table one recipe at a time. Health Coach guiding clients with a gentle hand to reach optimum health, fast safe and simple.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

