Paleo Day 5

DAY 5 ugh is all I can say; this was one of the hardest days of the week; isn’t it suppose to get easier as you go? It was so hard for me not to eat for some kind of grain or legume I love to add one or the other to my salad as my protein in place of animal protein. I normally don’t eat so much meat I have been used to eating quinoa, beans or fish so this change is different. I stay full longer eating this way and I do have more energy and the weight is coming off all is good . You maybe wondering how I have lost 4 lbs in 4 days and continue to loose by the day, I have locked the scale up again until next week though my clothes continue to feel better . I know what you are saying it’s only day 5. Well this is what I have learned,what we are used to hearing you can only burn calories at a steady rate when we Eat less and Exercise more. Eating less of the bad foods is great and exercise is always great but there is another way that we don’t normally hear about unless it is on a diet pill commercial and that is “Thermic effect ” this can only happen by eating protein. See when our body digests food is breaks it down into Carbohydrates,fats and proteins and then it turns it into energy. Not something we didn’t know but how does this Thermic effect happen? In order to get energy from our food intake our body must spend some of it’s own energy to digest and metabolize food. Carbohydrates and fats use about the same energy to digest where as protein uses almost 3x the energy then carbs and fats to digest and metabolize into energy. So what this means is that protein boosts your metabolism and causes us to loose weight faster then the same caloric amount of fat or carbohydrates. This is how you can burn calories even in your sleep. Burning calories in my sleep I love to hear that!!
I continue to eat my lean proteins; speaking of that What did I eat today? Breakfast I had a large fruit bowl snack was a handful of nuts lunch was a salad with chicken snack was a nectarine dinner was chicken with asparagus and salad snack was dried fruit and nuts. So as I head up to bed I will rest my head down easy knowing that I am burning calories in my sleep and tomorrow will be a better day!! So good night all keep plugging along eat healthy and God Bless!

About culinaryfusion

Certified Health Coach a real Foodie at heart, Menu planners, Kitchen Counselor, Gluten Free,Bringing families back to the kitchen table one recipe at a time. Health Coach guiding clients with a gentle hand to reach optimum health, fast safe and simple.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

