My Cursade to Living 85% Raw

Yep that’s right I am on my way, and today is day one.  I have done tons of research and yes I have lived like this before, from the lips of my children I was not very nice to live with.  LOL Me? Why would they say that?  No in all reality I was. I was so new to all of this. I was told by my nutritionist that I needed to give up Gluten, Dairy and Animal Protein, so I was doing what she said.  Didn’t research how to transition into this way of life so I just stopped. That’s right COLD TURKEY.  Yep I was nuts!!  You can’t do this! It is not good for you or  the  people around you.  You need to gradually eliminate things from your diet.  I will say I felt great physically, my skin was beautiful, but I was miserable, well I was dealing with a bunch of  life issues at the same time so I am guessing that it all had something to do with one another. Right??  Ok let me get back on track.  So I went back to school at the Culinary Institute of America and I learned how to prepare foods of this kind for others and I have done a great job at it; if I don’t say so myself. LOL  For me though not so good, did great with staying gluten-free other than the slice of pizza from time to time. Hey I live in NY how can one turn down NY  Brick Oven Pizza, ok I rest my case. You can’t!!  Though I really put my body in discomfort when cheating so Gluten Free it will be, I have also eliminated most animal protein, I do eat  Chicken from time to time, I need to completely eliminate all animal protein with the exception of goat cheese, eggs and fish.

Why Raw you ask?  I felt like a million bucks eating raw,  and now I am older, okay I hit 40 in 2010 and I need to keep myself healthy.  I live with RA (rheumatoid Arthritis) and eating any other way just doesn’t work for me.  Gluten just kills the joints and red meat ugh I don’t even want to go there.  So for me to live my best and healthy life it is back to eating clean and raw.  So back to juicing in the morning. If you don’t have a juicer I highly recommend one or go to you local juice bar they are all over the place now and treat your body to a Greenie, always remember to drink your juice on and empty stomach first thing in the morning or when you need a pick me up.  Why an empty stomach? because your body will absorb all the rich nutrients a lot faster, because it doesn’t have to digest it much just absorb, I normally wait about 45 mins after I eat any solid foods though when juicing I  consider that one of my meals.  Give it a try you will Thank me later. 

Ok so today marks day one of eating Raw so breakfast was 2 Carrots, Kale, Parsley, 1 Green Apple, 1 tsp grape seed oil, 1/2 tsp flaxseed oil all in the juice, so far not a cup of coffee yet. 

Lunch – will be Nicoise salad – what is that? some haricots verts (french green beans) just steamed baby new potatoes, sliced tomatoes, hard-boiled eggs, celery, spinach, I can of cannellini bean rinsed well lemon juice and some zest and olive oil.   That is a lot of veggies.

Dinner will be Swiss Chard and some Tofu

Ok  here it goes to a better me inside and out!!

About culinaryfusion

Certified Health Coach a real Foodie at heart, Menu planners, Kitchen Counselor, Gluten Free,Bringing families back to the kitchen table one recipe at a time. Health Coach guiding clients with a gentle hand to reach optimum health, fast safe and simple.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

