Oh So Yummy! Gluten~Free alternative to Lasagna

1:48pm est  and my son asks can we have lasagna for dinner,  not your ordinary lasagna, polenta lasagna.  Being it has just started snowing why not have some warm comfort food for dinner, the best thing is how  easy this recipe is and you can freeze left overs (if there is any) for the kids to reheat when they are hungry, I have two teenage boys who are always hungry so having extras is a must for me.  To make it a bit more tasty I add turkey sausage.  I will normally make this for my clients and cut it into portioned size meals and leave them reheat instructions, yes you can take out the polenta and just use zucchini or eggplant make it a veggie lasagna but not today.  Today will be my Grandmother’s recipe all the way okay I will substitute the pork sausage for turkey.  My Grandmother born in Torino Italy always used polenta in most of her dishes different that of my  Grandmother from Naples Italy who always used pasta in most of her dishes and fresh pasta it had to be.  My siblings and I had the  best of both worlds growing up with two Italian Grandmothers who had different ways of cooking the same dish.  Now that I am Gluten Free Grandma from Torino wins. 🙂  So tonight it will be Polenta Lasagna and tossed baby green salad and sparkling lemonade.  

I will also share a little secret if you make extra polenta (before adding it to the lasagna) keep it in the frig let it firm up over night in the morning grill it in the skillet then serve it with a little  Maple Syrup and butter oh so yummy!! Two meals one recipe!!

    

Recipe

Follow the cooking instructions for the polenta you are using,  pour it out onto a greased sheet pan, ( I use PAM and parchment paper)

let cool  until firm cut into strips with a pizza cutter or a knife which ever you feel more comfortable with,

In a pan make your favorite sauce, add the turkey sausage,

and start the layering process a layer of sauce, polenta, mozzarella cheese (I use fresh cheese, remember to check your pre- shredded cheese that it is gluten-free) continue the same steps until complete.  Bake in the oven for 25-30 mins on 350 until the Cheese is bubbling, take it out of the oven let it rest for about 10-15 mins then it is ready for you to dig in!!  Oh don’t forget to wrap up the left over polenta for the morning!!  Enjoy!!

About culinaryfusion

Certified Health Coach a real Foodie at heart, Menu planners, Kitchen Counselor, Gluten Free,Bringing families back to the kitchen table one recipe at a time. Health Coach guiding clients with a gentle hand to reach optimum health, fast safe and simple.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

