Christmas Cookies Anyone????

Today I was going through my Grandmother’s recipe box to bake some Christmas Cookies, Yep recipe box hand written on stained discolored paper or napkins whatever she could get her hands on when writing it down. Now most of the writing is faded. Love it!! Just makes it that much more special. So being I am Gluten Free and so are many of my clients I need to convert these recipes to taste like Grandma’s and still have them gluten-free. So here’s my dilemma what was Olio or 2= of this or heat the oven till done goodness I had my work cut out for me.  Oh I failed to mention she wrote parts in Italian and others in English it reminded me of when I was little and she would be talking  to my siblings and I in English and switch to Italian  without realizing it, so knowing she talked like that why wouldn’t she write like that?  Okay back to task I digress at times.  So here is my findings Olio is butter well margarine in her day,( Grandma is 98) and 2= was cups; didn’t you know that?  Nope not in all the years I have been cooking.  Now I have all my ingredients out and I am ready to  bake. Those of you who join me in the Culinary world I have my Mise en Place.  I will let you know how it goes.   So to all of you out there that are flipping through your Mom, Grandmother or Aunt’s recipe box and just can’t figure out for the life of you what they are talking about let me know I maybe able to help figure them out . Also if you need help on some conversions of a recipe be sure to ask.  Happy Baking!!

About culinaryfusion

Certified Health Coach a real Foodie at heart, Menu planners, Kitchen Counselor, Gluten Free,Bringing families back to the kitchen table one recipe at a time. Health Coach guiding clients with a gentle hand to reach optimum health, fast safe and simple.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

